Arizona Baseball Officials Association


Bob Raymond Award

“presented to the individual who best exemplifies the work ethic and spirit of AZBOA”

AZBOA presents annually the Bob Raymond Award for Career Excellence in Officiating. The award is named after Bob Raymond, a local officiating legend. Bob spent many years and countless hours assisting, training and mentoring AIA Officials. Each year AZBOA selects someone who best exemplifies the example Bob Raymond provided for AIA Baseball Umpires.

"Career service award for exemplary leadership, dedication and  service to Arizona Interscholastic Association, AZBOA and their Umpire Members."


2018: Harold Sakamoto & Mel Freund

2017: Jeanie Kosower

2016: Gary Whelchel

2015: Mike Orcutt & Richard Villa

2014: Steve Huddleson

2013: Dennis Meadows

2012: Dana Smith

2011: Roger Hale
2010: Bill Steinkemper
2009: Joel Sollish
2008: Ray Laing
2007: Steve Ojeda
2006: Jim Caruthers
2005: Bob Raymond